Under the radar

This year (and probably every year) there are certain Fringe shows that are terrific but aren’t getting the attention they deserve.

Some of the ones I’d say fit into that category are Dirty Stuff, Oddlie, Reincarnation Soup and The Soiree.

What are yours? What deserves a much larger audience?

20 responses to “Under the radar

  1. MYRON BLATTNER

    Mine are T-O-T-A-L-L-Y T-O-T-A-L-L-Y , A Lighter Shade of Blue, …..Some Other Day and Cyclosa Confusa.

  2. Robert DelMedico

    I don’t know what the crowds have been like for Pla, but I’ve heard few people talk about it, and I thought it was one of the more inventive improv shows I’ve ever seen.

  3. I have to second Myron’s shout out to A Brighter Shade of Blue. It’s Paul’s first year at the Fringe, and we know how hard it is to draw an audience your first time out, but he’s got a terrific show and deserves to be seen.

    Of course, I’ve also been trying all week to figure out “where IS the radar? Who’s actually under it?” I think it’s somewhat subjective as “the radar” is generally “what has been seen by the folks with whom I visit on the lawn?” It’s different for everyone. 🙂

  4. Christian Scholer

    I definitely agree with you, The Soiree is a great show! Also, T-O-T-A-L-L-Y. I’ve been talking up both shows to anyone who asks me.

  5. I enjoyed “Lyssa”, an original musical written, scored, directed, and acted by a group of Orlando teens, some as young as 15. It’s a story of a group of castaways, dealing with inner sexual conflicts, slowly descending into aggression and madness when they come across a shrine dedicated to “LYSSA”, the Greek goddess of madness.

    This is Alex Ferguson’s second original show at the “Fringe”. His previous effort, “Alice” won “Patron’s Pick” two years ago. Alex is off to New York at the end of June, and someday you will be able to say, “I saw Alex when…”

    Admittedly, I have a bias – my son performs in the show and I have watched several of the cast mature on stage over the past several years. But take a chance, see it and judge for yourself! Three shows left – Friday night at 10:00, Sat at 12:40PM & Sunday afternoon at 2:40 in the Green Venue.

  6. Chris Leavy

    I have to give LYSSA a shout out as well, accompanied by a similar bias: I’ve worked with Alex on several occasions locally and he’s insanely talented. His show is definitely flying under the radar, and as an original, home-grown musical (by a teenager, no less!) it sort of embodies for me what I like to see at Fringe: new work being put out there. Putting yourself out there to be judged is an incredibly brave thing to do (and Tim Mooney, who’s also somewhat under the radar, has a lovely show with this metaphoric theme as well) and I salute everyone who takes that risk.

  7. Another vote for Plā! It’s the kind of thing that seems to work better with a smaller crowd, though. Part of the reason it worked so well was the fact that we could all look around at ourselves and react to each other. He deserves to fill that Blue venue.

    I’m also going to mention “The Shakespeare Show” because they’re getting lost in that cavern that is Orange, and I’m sure they’re disappointed with being left out of the official program. But they’ve got their act down. It’s a very “Ren Fest”-y kind of thing, as if they designed it to grab and hold the attention of passers-by. I can’t resist that kind of thing, even though I doubt that was their primary or even secondary goal.

  8. David Horgan

    A LOT of shows flew under the radar for me. There are a couple of shows I can think of off the top of my head that I’ve heard nothing about. And I mean NOTHING. Not even met people who have seen them. A shame.

    To be honest, when people ask me what shows they should see I tend to tell them about the shows that I feel flew under the radar, so to speak. Mostly because everybody already knows they should see Cody Rivers.

    A Brighter Shade of Blue was fun. Unfortunately for him it’s his first time at the Orlando Fringe. Keep an eye on him, I think we’ll see more of him next year.

    I already gushed about Dirty Stuff in my other comment so I won’t repeat it here except to say you owe it to yourself to see it.

    Reincarnation Soup, Dancing Nude, Some Other Day, XXXPlicit, The Blood Feather, Cyclosa Confusa, and Is This Seat Taken are pretty good shows I haven’t heard a lot of people talk about but I thought were pretty good.

    Reckless Daughters was very good but flawed, as a couple of other commentators have said.

    Finally, Some Other Day is fantastic and should be seen.

  9. ….Is This Seat Taken. Sometimes I think the Improv shows are all lumped into one category and people go to them or they don’t. But the two guys in this shows are real pros and they make Improv a real joy–even for those who don’t normally call it their thing.

    • There is some VERY good improv at the Fringe this year — and what David Charles and Jay Hopkins do is completely different from what Jeff Wirth does in Pla. I enjoyed them both immensely.

  10. I must post for A Day In The Life of Miss Hiccup again here. Wonderful show. It should not be missed.

    • Michael Marinaccio

      I’ve heard wonderful buzz about that show, Mik. I really hope I get to see it.

  11. XXXPlicit features a hilarious Lisa Nowak musical that deserves to be seen!

  12. Seen 30 shows so far. I especially agree with the thoughts about T-O-T-A-L-L-Y! and The Soiree. I also think Pla and Full of Grace should be squeezed into everyone’s schedule if you can!

  13. I thought Spare Change was really well played but I think they are having the “newbie” curse thrust upon them.

  14. Susan Robertson

    Agree with many here, but must call out “The Shakespeare Show”. Witty & well-done. One of my favorites of the Fest. Also “Dirty Stuff” is amazingly good & laugh-out-loud funny.

  15. I am in the Orlando Sketch Comedy group, Night of the Nightwolf, which is performing ‘The Greatest Story Ever Sold’ over in the Red Venue.

    We got some good press the first night when the Sentinel came out to our show – but have been pretty under the radar.

    It’s our first Fringe, so we’ll be better prepared for the marketing expectations next time. But this has been an exhausting and awesome experience.