Theatre Winter Haven to give awards

It’s awards time at Theatre Winter Haven, where the annual Pierrot Awards will be handed out Saturday night.

Theatre Winter Haven announces nominees for the annual Pierrot Awards

Theatre Winter Haven will hold its 40th annual Pierrot Awards on Saturday, June 4, 2010 at the Chain of Lakes Auditorium, 210 Cypress Gardens Blvd. – Winter Haven, FL.  Refreshments will be served from 7 – 8 PM, courtesy of the Women’s Guild and the awards ceremony will begin at 8 PM.

The nominees for “the best” categories are chosen by a secret committee who attend all the plays and perform in none.  These nominees are then presented to the subscribers who vote on the winners in each category.

This years nominees are:

Best actor

  • Michael Kutner as Jack in Leading Ladies
  • Christopher Walsh as Arnold in The Boys Next Door

Best Actress

  • Laura Modrall as Shelby in Steel Magnolias
  • Marie Staton as Ouiser in Steel Magnolias
  • Sarah Jane Fridlich as Meg in Leading Ladies

Best Supporting Actor

  • Larry Helms as Doc in Leading Ladies
  • Will Greene III as Norman in The Boys Next Door

Best Supporting Actress

  • Sarah Woodsby as Annelle in Steel Magnolias
  • Ashley Lee as Audrey in Leading Ladies
  • Suzanne Clark as Shelia in The Boys Next Door

Best Cameo or Featured Actor

  • Nicholas Judy as Butch in Leading Ladies
  • Derek Wyatt as Duncan in Leading Ladies
  • Lee Matheny as Mr. Hedges/Senator Clark/Corbin in The Boys Next Door

Best Cameo or Featured Actress

  • Susanna Carey as Florence in Leading Ladies
  • Kathy Sheffield as Mrs. Fremus/Mrs. Warren/Clara in The Boys Next Door

Best Performance by a Young Person

  • Elise LeVasseur as Baby Louise in Gypsy
  • C. J. Burek as the Little Boy in Ragtime

Best Performance by a Male in a Musical

  • Kevin Davis as Tulsa in Gypsy
  • Dan Chesnicka as Mr. Kringelein in Gypsy
  • Robin Davis in the Ensemble in Gypsy
  • Joe Strickland as Tateh in Ragtime
  • Mark Hartfield as Father in Ragtime
  • Kent Altman as Younger Brother in Ragtime

Best Performance by a Female in a Musical

  • Genna Kanago as June in Gypsy
  • Lori Engler as Adult Louise in Gypsy
  • Elizabeth Takacs as Mother in Ragtime
  • Melissa Careccia as Evelyn Nesbitt in Ragtime
  • Heidi Thompson as Brigit in Ragtime

Best Set

  • Gypsy designed by Alan Reynolds
  • Ragtime designed by Alan Reynolds
  • Steel Magnolias designed by Derek M. Wyatt

Best Play

  • Steel Magnolias directed by Thom Altman
  • Leading Ladies directed by Larry Lesher
  • The Boys Next Door directed by Norman Small

Best Musical

  • Gypsy directed by Katrina Ploof
  • Ragtime directed by Katrina Ploof

Also to be presented are the Memorial and Scholarship Awards.  These are chosen annually by the staff of Theatre Winter Haven to honor and reward those who have given so much to make Season 40 a success.


Comments are closed.