In memoriam: Terry Newby

I’m sorry to have to report the death early this week of Terry Newby, a veteran Orlando actor and theater fan, who had fought a long bout with cancer.

Terry was a teacher who acted on many Orlando-area stages over the years, including at Civic Theatre of Central Florida, the Osceola Center for the Arts and the old Celebrity Dinner Theatre (an early ’80s business where downtown’s Beauchamp Theatre is now).

He also was a big fan of the Orlando Fringe, and I used to see him and his husband, Albert Ramirez-Newby, in line for Fringe shows countless times every May. The two of them were always eager to pass along their tips for good shows and to hear the word of mouth on what the best Fringe bets were likely to be.

All my best wishes to Albert and to all Terry’s friends in Orlando theater and elsewhere. We all will miss him.

10 responses to “In memoriam: Terry Newby

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention In memoriam: Terry Newby « Elizabeth Maupin on Theater -- Topsy.com

  2. Gail Bartell

    Oh, will we miss him. What a dear, sweet, talented human being. I will remember the fun times from Evita and Sweeney Todd at the Civic and the gift of cast photos he gave us for many productions. Our best to Albert, family and friends.
    Gail and Tim Bartell

  3. Ellie Potts Barrett

    And he was one of our best dancers in Whorehouse in Winter Haven…I will miss that gentle man so much!!!!

  4. Thanks for saying what we all feel. I’ll long remember him from his acting, photography, sharing of theater knowledge and especially when he was a part of a cruise we made to the Caribbean.

  5. On behalf of the board, staff, patrons and artists of Orlando Fringe- we all express our deepest sympathies to Albert and Terry’s family and closest friends.
    Terry volunteered countless hours for the festival, patronized numerous shows, photo archived for several years and he and Albert were billets for many of our artists. Before Fringe this year, he emailed me to let me know how sad he was that his health was preventing him for being involved.
    David Dorman took photos and got Fringe swag for him and gave him a gift package of Fringe so he could still be a part of it all.
    God, I miss him! Spirit, Love and Light to all!

  6. Doug Ba'aser

    Also an original Kid of the Kingdom at Disney! What a loss. Sweet sweet man.

  7. Jonathan Leavy

    May he rest in peace, knowing how loved his is/was here by so many. I will always remember his cheerful spirit and smile. And on facebook how he began the sharing of old Disney photos which many of us now continue to do. Thanks Terry for the good memories and photos!

  8. I will never forget Terry Newby and those beautiful dimples, his warm hug, and how he ALWAYS smiled when he said hello. I hadn’t seen him nor heard from him for a long time, but last year we became friends on Facebook ! Then he told me he’d found out he had cancer. I expected him to recover, and I’m so sad that he didn’t. I’m so very glad I knew Terry…and I will deeply miss him.

  9. Joel Strack

    What a wonderful spirit. I was lucky enough to share great memories with Terry. Years ago, we had a road-trip to become part of Hands-Across-America. More recently Terry and Albert helped spread the word about Gay Day at Epcot Food and Wine Festival in October. He will be remembered fondly. My heart goes out to Albert, and the rest of Terry’s family.

  10. Having acted onstage with Terry, and also being connected through our Entertainment jobs at Walt Disney World, we felt lucky to call him our friend. My husband, R.J., and I were deeply saddened to learn of his passing. He was a generous and happy soul, and I know all who knew him will miss him.