Breakthrough announces winners

Breakthrough Theatre, probably the busiest little theater in Central Florida, celebrated its first anniversary last night and gave out a slew of awards. Here are the winners:

  • Best Student Performance: Matt Dutton (Best of Broadway)
  • Best Cameo Performance: Bunny Fitzgerald (Dog Sees God)
  • Best Supporting Actor in a Musical: John Gracey (Best of Broadway)
  • Best Supporting Actress in a Musical: Desiree Perez (Best of Broadway)
  • Best Actress in a Musical: Janet Randolph (A My Name Will Always Be Alice)
  • Best Actor in a Musical: (tie) Michael Levins and Samuel Foarde (Godspell)
  • Best Supporting Actor in a Play: Adam Delmedico (Dog Sees God)
  • Best Supporting Actress in a Play: Krystal Gillette (Psycho Beach Party)
  • Best Actress in a Play: Christine Robison (KickAss Plays For Women: Commencing)
  • Best Actor in a Play: Joshua Eads-Brown (Torch Song Trilogy)
  • Patron of the Year: Cindy French
  • Volunteer of the Year: Seth Lindsey

Congratulations, everybody! And congratulations, especially, to Wade Hair, who is accomplishing his dream.


6 responses to “Breakthrough announces winners


    The Breadthrough party last night was a fun filled and emotion filled evening. The bits and pieces of past shows, the awards, the entertainment, Wade’s emotional singing, the food, …. All was great. It was a “CLASS ACT”.

    It’s a shame they didn’t have room for more people. Elizabeth, sorry you missed it.

  2. Julia Gagne

    Just curious: how were the winners selected?

  3. throughout the season, guests were randomly selected to receive a ballot after the performance, fill it out, giving each actor a rating, on a scale of 1 to 5, I think it was
    Wade will have to explain the rest. He told us, and all I remember is they were all totaled and then a percentage was determined. The top five in each category received the nomination.

  4. Pingback: Tweets that mention Breakthrough announces winners « Elizabeth Maupin on Theater --

  5. Thanks Betsy! 3-5 ballots are given to randomly selected people and theater members at each show. Actors are rated from 1-5. At the end of the run, rankings are added up and divided by the number of votes which gives a percentage. At the end of the season, the top five percentages are the nominees and the top percentage is the winner.