Marshall wins John Goring award

Beth Marshall, producing artistic director of the Orlando Fringe, will receive the first John Goring Memorial Lifetime Achievement Award, to be given out in conjunction with Playwrights’ Round Table’s John Goring Memorial One-Act Festival. She’ll be given the award Sunday afternoon Nov. 14 at the Lowndes Shakespeare Center.

John Goring, of course, was a playwright and the tireless president of PRT. He died in 2009, at the age of 56, after suffering a stroke the year before.

Congratulations to Beth, who has been a major advocate for new plays in Orlando.

Here’s the full story from PRT’s Erik Morris:

Playwrights’ Round Table, Orlando’s year-round source for original theater since 1997, is proud to announce the winner of the first ever John Goring Memorial Lifetime Achievement Award: Beth Marshall.  Known to many throughout Orlando, Beth has been the driving force for the Orlando International Fringe Festival and her own production company Beth Marshall Presents.  As a writer, producer and director, Beth Marshall has been a key figure in the development of not just her own original productions but original productions from around the world, including a large number which have originated throughout Central Florida.

The John Goring Memorial Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented as part of Playwrights’ Round Table’s Goring Festival Awards show on Sunday, November 14 at 3pm at the John and Rita Lowndes Shakespeare Center, at 812 E. Rollins Street. Tickets are $10 at the door; cash sales only please.

The Goring Festival continues Wednesday, November 10th with PRT’s $10 Industry Night.  For full festival schedule and show details, please visit or visit Playwrights’ Round Table’s Facebook group page: PRT – Playwrights’ Round Table.

The Goring Festival honors John Goring, PRT’s former President. A prolific playwright and director, John passed away in 2009 due to complications from a stroke suffered soon after his last PRT production.  At the culmination of this festival on November 14, PRT will award its first ever John Goring Lifetime Achievement Award to Beth Marshall, who has shown a similar lifelong dedication to both the arts in Central Florida and to the development of new plays, playwrights and productions – both of which were important driving forces with John Goring’s involvement and leadership of Playwrights’ Round Table.

2 responses to “Marshall wins John Goring award


    What a wonderful surprise for a most deserving person. Congratulations, to you Beth, from one of your many admirers.

  2. On behalf of Marylin McGinnis and myself, 2 of the 4 original founders of Playwrights’ Round Table, it makes up proud that this award should be given and that Beth Marshall be the first receipent of the John Goring Lifetime Achievement Award. We loved John and still miss him terribly. We are also proud of PRT for furthering new plays and playwrights!