In memoriam: Randall Wreghitt

Randall Wreghitt

I’m sorry to report that former Orlandoan Randall Wreghitt, for many years a Broadway and off-Broadway producer, has died of carbon-monoxide poisoning.

Some of you probably knew Randall when he lived in Orlando in the 1980s and was Randy Wreghitt. He worked in marketing at Disney, was on the board of the Civic Theatre and acted in community theater around town. I remember seeing him in Godspell at the IceHouse Theatre in Mount Dora and as Melvin P. Thorpe in Best Little Whorehouse in Texas at the Civic, among other shows.

Randall moved to New York to work with the Big Apple Circus and then became a producer, eventually producing such shows as The Beauty Queen of Leenane, Metamorphoses and Grey Gardens. In 2001 he won a Tony Award as a producer of One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest, which won for best revival of a play.

Here’s a short piece about his death. All my best to his family and friends here and elsewhere.

5 responses to “In memoriam: Randall Wreghitt

  1. Katrina Ploof

    Such a good theatre person, such a good person. I’m very sad to hear this. Shared the stage with Randy and loved every minute of it.

  2. Darlin Barry

    I am so shocked and saddened to read this about Randall. I only got to know him last year when he graciously agreed to be a special guest at the IceHouse during our production of Little Women, the Musical, which he had produced in New York. He was charming and supportive of our efforts both with the cast and musicians as well as with our Reception guests. He was so passionate about his projects; he was smart, funny and humble about his work. We’ve all lost a champion for challenging works of theater and a truly nice man. My thoughts are with his Orlando friends and with his family.

  3. Wally Harper

    Really sorry to hear that. I remember Randy from Disney and Civic. Every time I think of the Best Little… I think of him and his cowboy boots.

  4. Lisa Leonard

    I met Randall a couple of years ago when I was in Little Women the Musical over at the Icehouse Theatre. He was a kind, sweet man whose positive energy was contagious. So sorry to hear about his passing. He will be missed.