Nine plays you shouldn’t miss

Robin Williams, Brad Fleischer and Glenn Davis in Rajiv Joseph's 'Bengal Tiger at the Baghdad Zoo.' (Carol Rosegg)

It’s been all Fringe, all the time here lately, so here’s something completely different.

Two theater professors from my college, Nora Hussey and Melinda Lopez, have put together a list of nine plays that theater-lovers should not miss — a bucket list for theater-lovers. It’s an interesting list — some obvious, some not so much.

What do you agree with, and what would you add?

Here’s the list (reprinted from Wellesley Magazine):

  1. Joe Turner’s Come and Gone, by August Wilson.
  2. Hamlet, by William Shakespeare.
  3. Topdog/Underdog, by Suzan-Lori Parks.
  4. Bengal Tiger at the Baghdad Zoo, by Rajiv Joseph.
  5. Our Town, by Thornton Wilder.
  6. A Long Day’s Journey Into Night, by Eugene O’Neill.
  7. Blood Wedding, by Federico Garcia Lorca.
  8. The Clearing, by Helen Edmundson.
  9. Medea, by Euripides, Robinson Jeffers’ version.

And a bonus selection, from Professor Hussey:

Sonia Flew, by Melinda Lopez.

I’ve never seen Blood Wedding and never heard of The Clearing. I hope to see Bengal Tiger when I’m in New York in a couple of weeks. And I’ve read Sonia Flew (for a national play-writing contest a couple of years ago). It’s terrific.

I’d have to add Angels in America to the list. What about you?

5 responses to “Nine plays you shouldn’t miss

  1. Since I saw Equus, I find that I have kept my eye out for new productions because I want everyone I know to get to see it! 🙂

  2. A STREETCAR NAMED DESIRE by Tennessee Williams

    DEATH OF A SALESMAN by Arthur Miller

    GLENGARRY GLEN ROSS by David Mamet

    And there’s the “You should really see something by” category, but I can’t decide which of the wondrous ones would be best:
    Neil Simon
    Molière
    Terrence Mc Nally
    John Patrick Shanley
    Lanford Wilson

  3. Terry Olson

    I saw Blood Wedding in Manaus, Brazil – 3,000 miles up the Amazon in a theatre where Jenny Lind and Caruso once performed. My Spanish isn’t that good, so I didn’t understand all of it (and it is wordy), but it was a very interesting production.

  4. Rick Stanley

    Anything by George Bernard Shaw (Candida), Oscar Wilde (Earnest), Noel Coward (Blithe Spirit), or Stephen Sondheim (Forum?!!)

  5. Waiting For Maupin…😉

    But maybe at least Amadeus!