Bruun leaving Disney World for Disneyland

Alan Bruun

Alan Bruun, one of the founders of Mad Cow Theatre and the artistic director there for most of its 14-year history, is moving to southern California to work as creative director of entertainment at Disneyland.

Bruun announced the move early today in an email to more than 100 actors, directors and others active in the Orlando theater community.

He has worked as a director for Disney World for much of his 23 years in Orlando. He resigned from Mad Cow last July.

The theater, under the leadership of executive director Mitzi Maxwell, plans to move to a new home on West Church Street, across the street from the 55 West apartment complex, in January.

Here is the text of Bruun’s farewell note:

Dear friends and colleagues,

After 23 years in Orlando, my time here has come to a close. I will be departing for my home state, California, on Thursday, ending one of the longest and most rewarding chapters in my life – my time here with you in Florida.

I have been given the role of Creative Director of Entertainment at the Disneyland Resort in Anaheim. Disneyland is a park that is very dear to my heart, as my family and I visited often in my childhood. To return there with the opportunity to literally walk in Walt’s footsteps is an extraordinary dream come true. I will also have the opportunity to be closer to my mother, my sister, and my aunts, all of whom live in California.

It is bittersweet, though, since the relationships and experiences that I have had with all of you are some of the best and most wonderful I have known. I have been blessed to be a part of a remarkable community of artists, educators, advocates, and innovators that make up the arts community here in Orlando. For the past 2 decades it has been my privilege to join you in creating an enduring impact on the culture of our city. I am proud of what we have achieved together, and even more excited at what the future surely holds.

I want to thank you for the great joy you have given to me, and for the opportunity to be a part of your lives.

Sincerely,

Alan

4 responses to “Bruun leaving Disney World for Disneyland

  1. Wally Harper

    It was fun working with you on so many projects with both the Opera and Mad Cow. I wish you all the best with your move. My pass is good there too. So you may find me calling one day to say hi, let’s have a cup of coffee.

  2. Erin Miner

    Alan,
    Thank you for the many pleasurable hours we spent together in the dark! All the best.
    Erin

  3. bev and dick meer

    Alan,

    Dick and I thank you for the many precious moments we have spent at Mad Cow as recipients of your prodigious talent. Best wishes to you in your new position. The performing arts colony in Orlando is losing a fine asset.

    Bev and Dick Meer

  4. Stephen Lima

    Thank you Alan for everything you have done for me personal and for the city of Orlando. All the best in this new chapter.
    Stephen Lima