Category Archives: Awards

Breakthrough announces season winners

Here’s a rundown on award winners from Breakthrough Theatre’s second season:

Breakthrough plans an anniversary party

Here’s news on the second-anniversary party for Breakthrough Theatre of Winter Park:

Continue reading

Melon Patch gives its Sara Awards

Leesburg’s Melon Patch Theatre handed out its annual Sara Awards last weekend. Congrats to all the winners:

IceHouse plans its Cubie Awards

It’s the end of most theaters’ seasons, and the IceHouse Theatre in Mount Dora is one busily planning its annual end-of-season awards, the Cubies. They’re happening June 18, and if you’re set on going you must RSVP. Here are all the details:

Continue reading

Fringe plans Sunday-night graduation party

Fringe is still in full swing on its final weekend, but the Sunday-night “graduation party” — the awards show — is rapidly approaching.

Continue reading

‘Book of Mormon, ‘Scottsboro Boys’ lead Tony nominations

The Book of Mormon, the impudent hit musical by the creators of South Park and Avenue Q, has won 14 Tony nominations, the most for any Broadway production in the 2010-2011 season.

In nominations announced this morning, that show was followed closely by 12 nominations for The Scottsboro Boys, a serious musical by John Kander and the late Fred Ebb, creators of Cabaret and Chicago, which ran on Broadway for only six weeks last fall.

Continue reading

‘Clybourne Park’ wins drama Pulitzer

Bruce Norris

Clybourne Park, Bruce Norris’s drama suggested by the story of Lorraine Hansberry’s A Raisin in the Sun, won the 2011 Pulitzer Prize for drama today.

The play had its premiere Feb. 21, 2010 at Playwrights Horizons in New York and ran only a month, until March 21. A different production opened in London in August 2010 and then transferred to the West End.

Continue reading

Theater critics award top prize — again — to playwright Bill Cain

Bill Cain

For the second year in a row, New York playwright Bill Cain has won the $25,000 Steinberg/American Theatre Critics Award for a new play — this time for 9 Circles, a harrowing but ultimately uplifting play about war and redemption.

Continue reading

Playwright Cori Thomas wins 2011 Osborn Award

Cori Thomas (photo courtesy of City Theatre Company, Pittsburgh)

Playwright Cori Thomas, a New York-based writer who has lived in seven countries, has won the American Theatre Critics Association’s M. Elizabeth Osborn Award for her play When January Feels Like Summer, a dark comedy about a multicultural neighborhood and its residents’ search for assimilation and identity.

Thomas will receive the $1,000 prize — meant to honor a playwright who has not yet won national attention — April 2 in Louisville, Ky., at the Humana Festival of New American Plays.

(I was one of the members of the ATCA awards committee that chose Thomas for this prize.)

Here’s more on Thomas and her play:

Continue reading

U.S. playwright Katori Hall wins Susan Smith Blackburn award

American playwright Katori Hall has won the prestigious Susan Smith Blackburn Prize, a $20,000 award given every year to a woman playwright writing in English. Hall received the prize for her play Hurt Village.

Here’s more:

Continue reading

Theater critics announce six finalists for $25,000 new-play prize

Six U.S. playwrights have been named as finalists in the 2010 Steinberg/American Theatre Critics Association ATCA) New Play Award, a national competition run by ATCA, the professional organization of U.S. theater critics.

The six finalists are up for $40,000 in awards, including one $25,000 first-place award and two $7,500 citations. The awards go to the writers of the scripts judged to have been the best produced in a regional theater outside New York the previous year.

Continue reading

Theater review: ‘Hunter Gatherers’ at Art’s Sake Studio

Clarification: Howler’s Theatre is owned by Jeremy Wood and Scott Browning and rented Art’s Sake Studio for this production. It’s not officially connected to Art’s Sake, although Art’s Sake is co-producer of ‘Hunter Gatherers’ and all the actors involved are members of the Art’s Sake Resident ensemble.

By Elizabeth Maupin
Elizabeth Maupin on Theater

Jeremy Wood as Richard

Every year, when Tom and Richard and their wives get together to celebrate their anniversaries, Richard wrestles Tom to the floor.

Tom never wins. And Richard always has to make the point – every year for 17 years – that he’s the alpha male.

What’s a little wrestling between friends? Well, it’s the least of the primal transgressions in Hunter Gatherers, Peter Sinn Nachtrieb’s wild and woolly comedy, which is getting an appropriately outrageous production at Winter Park’s Art’s Sake Studio.

Continue reading

Seminole State student receives award honoring Paul Wegman

Amy Blaker

Amy Blaker, a student at Seminole State College, has been given the first Paul M. Wegman Scholarship from Seminole State. The award honors the beloved actor Paul Wegman and also the beloved director Sara Daspin, who was Paul’s mentor and helped set up this scholarship.

Wegman died of AIDS in 2004. Daspin, the longtime head of the theater program at what was then Seminole Community College, died of cancer in 2008.

Here’s the full information on the new award:

Continue reading

Arts-education center puts on talent contest for kids

Here’s a way for kids to win some bucks from the Orange County Arts Education Center — if they’ve got a talent to display:

Continue reading

Theatre Winter Haven offers prize for kids

Theatre Winter Haven Academy is offering a talent contest called the Brightest Star for Polk County kids 9-18. Applications are due Feb. 15.

Here are the guidelines for the competition. You can download them here, and you can download the application form here.

Continue reading

Susan Smith Blackburn finalists named

Here’s announcement of the finalists for the prestigious Susan Smith Blackburn Prize, which goes every year to a woman playwright writing in English.

There have been many noted winners in the past (Sarah Ruhl, Dael Orlandersmith, Paula Vogel, Caryl Churchill and others), and this list of finalists is probably a pretty good guidebook to the promising women playwrights of today:

Continue reading

Fringe 2011 show wins prize up north

Good news from the Oops Guys, the former Orlandoans who are bringing Bitches of the Kingdom! to the 2011 Fringe. The musical, which is also called Disenchanted! and is the tale of a bunch of Disney princesses gone sour, just won a full production from the New Jersey Playwrights Contest.

Continue reading

Marshall wins John Goring award

Beth Marshall, producing artistic director of the Orlando Fringe, will receive the first John Goring Memorial Lifetime Achievement Award, to be given out in conjunction with Playwrights’ Round Table’s John Goring Memorial One-Act Festival. She’ll be given the award Sunday afternoon Nov. 14 at the Lowndes Shakespeare Center.

Continue reading

Wayne Densch Center holds awards show

Sanford’s Wayne Densch Performing Arts Center holds its annual awards show Oct. 2, this time with controversial radio personality Shannon Burke as emcee.

Here’s the story:

Continue reading

Good news for Lynn Nottage (and her fans)

New York playwright Lynn Nottage (Ruined, Intimate Apparel) has won the $200,000 Steinberg Award for playwriting, the most lucrative award in theater.

Meanwhile, Nottage’s acclaimed drama Ruined, which won the Pulitzer Prize in 2009,  will be on television, although it may be a while. Nottage is in the early stages of working on the screenplay version for Oprah Winfrey’s production company and HBO films.

All of that is welcome news to those of us who like good drama. Stay tuned.